Liar & Spy by Rebecca Stead

Liar And Spy

Here is my third review for the 48 Hour Book Challenge!  I have been reading for a long time, with my cat keeping me company by my side, purring happily.  Enjoy!  Georges (the s is silent) has just moved into an apartment from a house where he has a nice bedroom.  His dad got laid off, so they needed to downsize and they are just getting used to things.  He is also getting bullied in school by a kid named Dallas and his buds, but he is not letting it get to him.  When he takes out the trash with his dad, they see a sign for a Spy Club.  His dad figures it is years old, but he writes “What Time?” on the sign anyway.  When Georges goes down there again, he sees that there is an answer: 1:30.  At that time, Georges goes into the room with the sign on the door and meets two quirky kids; Candy and Safer.  Safer is the head of the club, and Georges is given an assignment; to find out what Mr. X. is up to.  Mr. X. is the man who lives above Georges and wears black every day.  He doesn’t talk to anyone and carries around two big suitcases.  A story of friendship and spying, Liar & Spy follows Georges and Safer on their dangerous mission to find what Mr. X. is hiding.  Great for fans of When You Reach Me, Rebecca Stead’s latest book is a must-read.

My thoughts:

Liar And Spy was a really special read.  Rebecca Stead pens books with such character; they have the same vibe and you can tell it is her writing.  She throws that unexpected curveball at you,and you never know what is going to happen next.  I love how it keeps you guessing-I am always so proud of myself when I guess correctly.  Well, I can tell you one thing; I DID NOT guess correctly on this book.  It was so unexpected that I almost dropped the book.  I woke up my cat by whisper-shouting “WHAT?!?!”  I love her style of writing.  I also loved the cover: I was really sad to find out (literally five minuted ago) that Yan Nascimbene (cover illustrator) had passed away this year.  The cover and the author made me check it out of the library, and I only read the blurb right before I read the book.  I loved how the characters Safer and Candy had such personality; they were really fun and unique.  If you are a big Rebecca Stead fan, read Liar & Spy!

XanderStars:

Overall: 9 out of 10 XanderStars

Getting back to reading!  Next review will be Charlotte’s Web (tomorrow) by E.B. White!

Xander

Advertisements

3 responses to “Liar & Spy by Rebecca Stead

  1. Your summaries are outstanding! Would you recommend this book for second graders? I love reading my students mysteries because I enjoy them myself. You write like a Myers’ student. So I see you are still finding projects to keep you busy thinking:) Warmly, Mrs. Britton

Leave a Reply, and I will do my best to get back to you!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s